PROFILES: Meet Nigerian Presidents who did not chair ECOWAS (Photos)

On Sunday, 9th of July, President Bola Tinubu was elected as the chairman of the Economic Community of West African States and Government.

At the Authority’s 63rd Ordinary Session in Bissau, Guinea-Bissau, his election was declared official. President of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau Umaro Sissoco Embaló will be replaced by Tinubu….Continue Reading>>>

Tinubu took over as the head of the sub-regional political and economic body from Guinea-Bissau President Umaro Sissoco Embalo.

Hey Guys, Join me on my WhatsApp Channel to get EXCLUSIVE and UNSEEN content!! ♥

His main responsibilities as ECOWAS chairman include supervising ECOWAS institutions, implementing the Community’s goals and objectives, and managing the economic, scientific, technological, cultural, and other guidelines for member states.

The Lagos Treaty, which was signed on May 28, 1975, created ECOWAS. According to research by WITHIN NIGERIA, just three Nigerian presidents or heads of state have been denied the opportunity to serve as ECOWAS’ chairperson since the regional organization’s founding in 1975.

Here is a list of Nigerian Presidents/Heads of States who never chaired ECOWAS:

Murtala Mohammed

Murtala Ramat Mohammed

Murtala Ramat Mohammed GCFR was born on November 8, 1938, and passed away on February 13, 1976. He was a Nigerian general who overthrew the Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi military administration in 1966. He also played a significant role in the Nigerian Civil War and controlled Nigeria from 29 July 1975 until his assassination on 13 February 1976.

Murtala Ramat Muhammad never presided over ECOWAS throughout his tenure as president of state, according to a check by WITHIN NIGERIA. At the time, the head of ECOWAS was Gnassingbe Eyadema, Togo’s military government. From 1967 until his death, he was the leader of Togo.

Shehu Shagari

Alhaji Shehu Shagari

Shehu Usman Aliyu Shagari GCFR passed away on December 28, 2018, having been born on February 25, 1925. He was a Nigerian politician and the country’s first democratically elected leader since General Olusegun Obasanjo handed over control in 1979, establishing the Second Nigerian Republic. From October 1, 1979, until December 31, 1983, he was the president of Nigeria.

Shehu Shagari never presided over ECOWAS while Nigerian President, according to a check by WITHIN NIGERIA. Leopold Sedal Senghor of Senegal (1979–1980), Gnassingbe Eyadema of Togo (1980–1981), Siaka Stevens of Sierra Leone (1981–1982), and Matthew Kerekou of Benin Republic (1982–1983) served as ECOWAS chairs when Shehu Shagari served as president (1979–1983).

Ernest Shonekan

Ernest Shonekan

Chief Ernest Adegunle Oladeinde Shonekan GCFR was born on May 9, 1936, and passed away on January 11, 2022. He was a Nigerian lawyer who presided as Nigeria’s interim leader from 26 August 1993 until 17 November 1993….Continue Reading>>>

Ernest Shonekan never served as chair of ECOWAS during his time in office, according to a check by WITHIN NIGERIA. From 1993 to 1994, the Benin Republic’s Nicephore Soglo presided over ECOWAS.